If you recently got arrested for drinking and driving, you may worry about how the potential of a DWI conviction could affect your finances, your career and your reputation. You may also have concerns about what the impending legal process will involve.
You could face penalties for DWI in Texas if, according to the Texas Department of Transportation, you drive with a blood alcohol content level at or above 0.08%. The penalties for this offense will depend on whether this is your first, second or third drunk driving charge.
First, second and third offenses
If this is your first DWI arrest, you could face a fine of up to $2,000, the requirement to spend up to 180 days in jail and the loss of your driving privileges for up to a year. For a second DWI offense, you may have to pay a fine amounting to $4,000, spend anywhere from 2 to 10 years in prison and lose your driver’s license for up to two years. The difference between penalties for a second and third DWI offense is that you may have to pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Driving impaired with a child
There are additional penalties if you get arrested for driving impaired with a child under 15 in your car. For example, you could face charges for child endangerment and need to pay an additional $10,000 fine.
The time between your DWI arrest and your initial DWI hearing may be difficult to cope with. Take steps to prepare your defense during this time and for what lies ahead in the event of a conviction.