Texas law defines theft as illegally depriving someone of his or her property. The charges and penalties for theft vary based on the value of the stolen item. 

If you face theft charges in Texas, familiarize yourself with the possible consequences of a conviction. 

Misdemeanor theft

Texas typically charges theft of property worth less than $1,500 as a misdemeanor. You could receive the following penalties for a conviction: 

  • Theft worth $50 or less: Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500 
  • Theft worth $51 to $500 or theft of an official identification card such as a driver’s license: Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail 
  • Theft worth $501 to $1,500: Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and up to 12 months in jail 

Felony theft

  • Theft worth $1,501 to $20,000, theft of livestock or theft of a firearm: State jail felony with a mandatory minimum of 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $10,000 
  • Theft worth $2,001 to $100,000: Third-degree felony with a mandatory minimum of two years and up to 10 years in prison, along with a fine of up to $10,000 
  • Theft worth $101,000 to $200,000: Second-degree felony with a mandatory minimum of two years and up to 20 years in prison, along with a fine of up to $10,000 
  • Theft worth more than $200,000: First-degree felony with a mandatory minimum of five years and up to 99 years in prison, along with a fine of up to $10,000 

In addition to these criminal penalties, you may also receive civil penalties for a theft conviction in Texas.